Under Georgia law, driving with a suspended license is a misdemeanor. In Georgia there are a number of ways to have one's license suspended, including:
Punishment for driving with a suspended license, like many other crimes, varies depending on how many times you have committed the same offense before. In the event that it is your first offense, a minimum of two (2) days in jail, coupled with a minimum fine of $500.00 is possible. On second offenses and beyond, punishments can vary, with fines starting at $1,000.00 with jail time of ten (10) days or more. At Miller & Brown, P.C. we strive to provide the best possible representation, so that you may receive fair and honest treatment in court. As with any serious motor vehicle violation, it is important to discuss your charge with an attorney who can explain your rights, defenses, and legal options. If you would like to set up a consultation with one of our criminal defense attorneys regarding driving with a suspended license charge, or any other criminal concern, please call our office at (770) 461-2025.